About Us - Villanova University Tech Crew

Villanova University Tech Crew

VUTC is a completely student-operated organization that functions as an on-campus business. We specialize in providing live audio, lighting, and event production services at a professional level while reducing costs and improving the quality of campus activities. Staff are able to learn about professional audio, lighting, and event production in a hands-on environment. Not only do staff members get technical skills in this field, but they are also exposed to the business side of the organization (budgets, payroll, marketing, purchases, etc.) as well as teamwork, leadership, time-management, and communications with clients.

The 2024 VUTC Executive Board

Position Name Email Address Contact them about:
President Brendan Daly bdaly03@villanova.edu Questions about the organization as a whole, escalation of issues
Vice President Frangel Rodriguez frodri03@villanova.edu Large-scale events, technical questions
Events Managers Dennis Le Dle3@villanova.edu General questions about events and events requests
Jeremy Eaton Jeaton03@villanova.edu General questions about events and events requests
John Flock jflock@villanova.edu General questions about events and events requests
Equipment Manager Michael Perry mperry02@villanova.edu For staff: questions about equipment
Office Manager Daniel Sobol dsobol01@villanova.edu For staff: questions about office hours
Finance Managers Joseph Ahn jahn01@villanova.edu Questions about billing or payment
Aryan Arora aarora01@villanova.edu Questions about billing or payment
Operations Manager Anthony Bernardo aberna16@villanova.edu Social events, apparel
Personnel Managers An Phan aphan01@villanova.edu Joining VUTC
May Vo mvo01@villanova.edu Joining VUTC
Social Media Manager Keith Murphy kmurph99@villanova.edu Social media content associated with VUTC
Faculty Advisor Catherine Coyle catherine.coyle@villanova.edu Escalation of issues (484) 792-1269

History of VUTC

VUTC traces its roots to the 1980's with VSMT Stage Crew (later MASC). The group provided technical support for shows in St. Mary's Theater. In the late 1990's there became a need for another group to handle a growing number of on-campus concerts and events including DJs and other musical performances happening outside of the St. Mary's Theater.

In 2003, VUTC was chartered as part of Villanova's Office of Student Involvement. Since its founding, the organization has undergone a series of changes, including new faculty advisors, acquiring new equipment, and restructuring of the Executive Board. Much of the equipment upgrades began around 2013, and most of the equipment VUTC uses today has been purchased since then.

The original VUTC website was created in 2004, and was replaced in the fall of 2015 by the current version. The website serves as the hub of all VUTC activity, allowing clients to request events, staff to sign up to work, and tracking of equipment to occur, among many other functions. The website is constantly undergoing changes and updates, performed by the Web Team.